Amy's Kitchen Blog

A Culinary Journey

Mint Truffles

The overall feedback on my mint truffles was that these are my best truffles yet!  I’m not actually a big fan of anything mint flavored, but friend of mine requested these and when I came up with a recipe that seemed right I had to try making them.  Originally, I thought I would have to put mint extract into a chocolate ganache, but I was hoping for a filling that wasn’t chocolate based so I kept looking.  The mint filling is actually adapted from a mint brownie recipe that includes a similar mint layer on top of the brownies, but the filling doesn’t actually include any chocolate itself.

One difficulty of this approach is that the filling is quite soft.  It must be frozen before it is handled, both to roll the truffles and to dip them.  Even after spending hours in the freezer, the filling will not be frozen solid.  This makes dipping particularly tricky; the entire truffle must be coated in warm chocolate, the excess removed, and the product safely transferred back to a hard surface.  I began dipping using a dipping spiral, but the filling melted into the spiral too much to be reasonably easily or presentably removed.  I had the most success with a two-pronged dipping fork.  I still wasn’t able to tap off excess chocolate as much as I would usually like to after dipping these, but once the chocolate cooled and hardened, I just went through and broke off the “feet” where it had made a little puddle around the bottom of each truffle.

An observation I made about the finished product was that some of them seemed to ooze a little bit if there was a crack in the chocolate or any place where the filling was exposed.  I’m not sure what caused this, but it’s something to look out for.  I’ll have to see if it happens again next time and investigate further.

Just one last note about an ingredient.  I had to check around at few local stores before finding mint extract.  Even the more “specialty” grocery stores didn’t carry it.  For once, Wal-Mart saved me!  If you can’t find it locally it is available online, but is generally more expensive if purchased that way.

Recipe:

Makes 25-30 truffles.

Ingredients:

2 .5 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons butter, softened
3 tablespoons whipping cream
2 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 teaspoon mint extract
2 drops green food color
7 ounces dark chocolate

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients except chocolate. Freeze until firm.
  2. Use scoop to form mint filling into balls. Freeze until firm.
  3. Break chocolate into small pieces and place in a microwave safe bowl. Melt chocolate in microwave at medium power. Use dipping fork to coat mint balls in chocolate. Place on wax paper on cookie sheet and refrigerate until firm.  Store in fridge for up to 2 weeks.
Leave a Reply

